HOLMES COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR SESSION JULY 21, 2015

The Holmes County School Board met in Regular Session Tuesday, July 21, 2015 at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room at 701 East Pennsylvania Avenue in Bonifay. Board Members present: Rusty Williams – Chair, Sid Johnson – Vice-Chair, Alan Justice and Shirley Owens. Also present: Board Attorney Luke Taylor, Administrators Jim Goodman and Carmen Bush, Finance Officer Larry Hawkins and Resource Officer Greg Johnson. Board Member Debbie Kolmetz was unable to attend. Superintendent Eddie Dixon was also unable to attend and Jim Goodman, Deputy Superintendent, set in for Mr. Dixon.

Chair Rusty Williams called the regular scheduled meeting to order and the adoption of the agenda. Mr. Williams amended the agenda to change the personnel recommendations on the transfer of a position at the GAP to BES. Sid Johnson moved to approve the agenda, second by Alan Justice which passed unanimously.

HEARING THE PUBLIC

- Susan Steverson, Teacher at BHS, spoke and presented a Whistleblower Complaint.
- The following also addressed the board concerning support of BHS Teacher Susan Steverson: Sally Brock, Jessica Sellers former student, Abigail Watford student, Kathy? student, Rachel Sellers parent, Randi Thomas parent, Christine LiCausi parent, Rhonda Clyatt Attorney, Odell Paul former Principal.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. AMEND 2015-2016 CONTRACT WITH HEALTH DEPARTMENT – (Tabled 07/07/15) Alan Justice moved to take the item off the table, second by Sid Johnson which passed unanimously. The original motion of the request for additional funding then passed 3-1 with Sid Johnson voting against the motion. S. min. p. _____

ADMINISTRATIVE PROGRAMS -

- A. APPROVAL TO ADVERTISE THE 2015-2016 TENTATIVE BUDGET Finance Officer Larry Hawkins presented the tentative budget for advertisement and requested the board change the 08/04/15, 9:00 a.m. meeting and hold a public hearing and regular session on Monday, 08/03/15 at 5:05 p.m. for a decision on the proposed tax increase and the budget. Sid Johnson moved to approve, second by Alan Justice which passed unanimously. S min. p. _____
- B. CODE OF STUDENT CONDUCT Sid Johnson moved to approve, second by Shirley Owens which passed unanimously. S. min. p. _____

The Consent Agenda was unanimously approved on a motion by Alan Justice and second by Shirley Owens as follows: Invoices, Warrant List, P.O.'s over \$3000, Budget Amendments (None), and the 07/07/15 Regular Session Minutes.

PERSONNEL – Superintendent Dixon made the following recommendations:

HIRE the following for the 2015-2016 school year:

Julie Lassiter as PE Teacher at BHS. (Original transferred to BMS)

Vicky Duke as Math Teacher at BHS. (Original transferred to BMS)

Rebekah Carnley as Elementary Teacher at PS. (Original resigned)

Barry Lee as Teacher at GAP. (Original transferred to HCHS)

Renee Sellers as Lunchroom Worker at PDLE. (Original transferred to Aide)

Victoria Short as ESE Aide I at HCHS. (Original resigned)

TRANSFER the following for the 2015-2016 school year:

Rebecca Peterson, Teacher at BES to PDLE. (Original transferred to BES)

Deborah Jones, Teacher at BMS to PS. (Original retired)

Zach Lee, Aide III at PDLH to BHS. (Position transferred due to student graduating)

Teaching Position from GAP to HCHS to create ESE Inclusion Math/Science BES Kindergarten based on population of ESE Inclusion increase.

ACCEPT the Resignation from Employment on the following:

Anna Beth Rackley, Teacher at BES, effective 07/13/15.

Misty Hicks, Teacher at PDLH, effective 07/08/15.

HIRE the following for the 2015-2016 WINGS After-School/Extended School Program:

District

Project Director – Marie Ellenburg

Lead Coordinator - Kelley McKee

Evaluator - Sheri Brooks

Curriculum – Amy Somerset

Bethlehem

Site Coordinator – Rosanne Mitchell

Teachers - Alesha Gilley, Carol Miller, Shelley Smith, Cheryl Whitaker

Bus Driver – Christal Johnson

Bonifav Middle

Site Coordinator – Chey Bowers, Beverly Sallas

Teachers- Amy Tate, Vicki Steverson, Cynthia Goodson, Ryan Boyd, Linda Strickland, Tina Mullins, Shane Bush, Robin Carrell, Stephanie Brown, Rachel Cooley

Bus Driver – Penny Jones

Ponce de Leon Elementary

Site Coordinator – Tonya McInnis

Teachers – Terry Commander, Catherine Peel, Donna Griffin, Kelly Owens

Bus Driver – David Griffin

Personnel hired to work in afterschool positions funded by the Holmes County School Board will not be allowed to work for any other private or public afterschool program during the 2015-2016 school year.

Personnel will be utilized during the afterschool academic school year and during the summer school program. Work hours and schedules will be followed as outlined in the approved grant. Personnel hired at one school site may be utilized at all school sites based on program needs.

Sid Johnson moved to approve, second by Alan Justice which passed 3-0 with Rusty Williams abstaining from voting due to a voting conflict.

There being no further business Sid Johnson moved to adjourn, second by Alan Justice which passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 6:40 p.m.	
Rusty Williams, Chairman	Eddie Dixon, Superintendent