# HOLMES COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD WORKSHOP August 6, 2019

The Holmes County School Board held a Workshop on Tuesday, August 6, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room at 701 East Pennsylvania Ave in Bonifay. Board Members present: Shirley Owens – Chair, Alan Justice – Vice-Chair, Kaci Johnson, Wilburn Baker and Leesa Lee. Also present: Superintendent Terry Mears, Board Attorney Owen Powell, Administrators Carmen Bush, Mickey Hudson and Greg Sallas, Director JaLisa Brannon and Phillip Byrd, Finance Officer Kelly Leavins and Officer Odom

### Discussion included:

- A. DAG ARCHITECTS
- B. FACILITIES

With extra time being left in the workshop, JaLisa Brannon gave an update on transportation. ADJOURN

The workshop concluded at 5:55 p.m. and the Board took a short break before the Regular Session.

# HOLMES COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR SESSION August 6, 2019

The Holmes County School Board held a Regular Session on Tuesday, August 6, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room at 701 East Pennsylvania Ave in Bonifay. Board Members present: Shirley Owens – Chair, Alan Justice – Vice-Chair, Kaci Johnson, Wilburn Baker and Leesa Lee. Also present: Superintendent Terry Mears, Board Attorney Owen Powell, Administrators Carmen Bush, Mickey Hudson and Greg Sallas, Director JaLisa Brannon and Phillip Byrd, Finance Officer Kelly Leavins and Officer Odom

Chair Owens called the regular scheduled meeting to order and the adoption of the agenda. Alan Justice moved to approve the agenda, second by Wilburn Baker which passed unanimously.

#### FACILITIES:

A. 2019-2020 CONTRACT FOR CERTIFIED WASTEWATER TREATMENT PLANT OPERATOR – Wilburn Baker moved to approve, second by Leesa Lee which passed unanimously. S. min. p. 257

### ADMINISTRATIVE PROGRAMS:

- A. SECURE VESTIBULE DESIGN WITH DAG Kaci Johnson moved to approve, second by Alan Justice which passed unanimously. S. min. p. 257
- B. 2018-2019 EQUITY UPDATE Alan Justice made a motion to approve, second by Wilburn Baker which passed unanimously. S. min. p. 257
- C. 2019 VARSITY FOOTBALL SCHEDULE Leesa Lee made a motion to approve, second by Wilburn Baker which passed unanimously. S. min. p. <u>257</u>
- D. 2019-2020 HCHS BELL SCHEDULE– Alan Justice made a motion to approve, second by Wilburn Baker which passed unanimously. S. min. p. <u>257</u>
- E. 2019-2020 HCHS FACULTY AND STAFF HANDBOOK Kaci Johnson moved to approve, second by Leesa Lee which passed unanimously. S. min. p. 257
- F. 2019-2020 VALUE ADJUSTMENT BOARD; Wilburn Baker/Board Member and Larry Cook/ Business Owner – Alan Justice moved to approve, second by Leesa Lee which passed unanimously. S. min. p. <u>257</u>
- G. 2019-2020 INTER-INSTITUTIONAL EARLY COLLEGE/DUAL ENROLLMENT ARTICULATION AGREEMENT BETWEEN NORTH WEST FLORIDA STATE COLLEGE AND HOLMES DISTRICT SCHOOL

The Consent Agenda was unanimously approved on a motion by Alan Justice and second by Wilburn Baker as follows: Invoices, Warrant List, P.O.'S over \$3000, Budget Amendments, other Administrative items, Workshop & Regular Session Minutes for the 7/16/19 meeting. S. min. p. 257

PERSONNEL – Superintendent Mears made the following recommendations:

HIRE the following employees for the WINGS 2019-2020 school year:

### • <u>BK-8</u>

Miriam Beasley

Melanie Albury

Anissa Western

Julie Johnson

Kristyl Messer

Amanda Baggett

Kathryn Worthing

Rachel Cooley

Sandie West

Melissa Hudson

Stephanie Paul (Middle School Site Coordinator)

Donna Acosta

Tina Mullins

Cynthia Goodson (Elementary Wings Coordinator)

Mandi Boyd

**Chey Bowers** 

Kyla Rushing

Michelle Dampier

Ryan Boyd

Angie Goddin

Terry Petty

Leslie Mollett

Melanie Whitaker

Mary Atwell

Vicki Steverson (Elementary School Curriculum)

Amy Tate (Middle School Curriculum)

## • BHS

Mary Daddy (Site Coordinator)

Alicia Brown (Curriculum)

Jordan Dady

Nikki Ellenburg

Alesha Gilley

Lisa Mathews

Shelley Smith

Hannah Watkins

Tina Wilson

#### • PSH

Melissa Whitledge (Site Coordinator)

Jana Trim (Curriculum)

Deborah Jones

Carol Miller

Karen Mattox

Lacey Brown

Brad Hall

Heather Tyre

Chelsea Cushing Rebekah Carnley **PDLE** Terry Commander (Coordinator) Donna Griffin (Curriculum) Desiree Rich Kelly Owen Terri Redmon Jennifer Sweat Rebecca Peterson Tina Brannon Holly Culpepper Shannon White Wanda Brown District Marie Ellenburg (Project Director) Kelley McKee (Lead Coordinator) Sheri Brooks (Evaluator) HIRE the following employees for the 2019-2020 school year: Cody Carroll, PDLH Varsity Softball Coach, effective 8/1/19 Owen Dady, PDLH JV and Middle School Softball Coach, effective 8/1/19 TRANSFER the following employees: • Lessie Perry, PSH Pre-K Aide to BK-8 Receptionist, effective 7/30/19 • Kelly Owen, PDLE Teacher, to PDLH ELA, effective 7/18/19 • Nancy Messer, BHS Teacher to PSH 3<sup>rd</sup> grade, effective 7/23/19 • Amy Eldridge, PDLE Bookkeeper to PDLH Bookkeeper, effective 8/1/19 • Pam Carroll, PDLH to PDLE, effective 8/1/19 Jacquelyn Owen, PSH VPK Aide to PSH VPK Lead Teacher, effective 8/12/19 Brittany Brown, HCHS Teacher to PDLH AG Teacher, effective 8/1/19 ACCEPT the resignation for the following employees: • Michael Ard, BHS bus driver, effective 6/24/19 at 8:00 a.m. (retirement) • Charlene Hodge, BK-8 Receptionist, effective 7/31/19 at 3:00 p.m. (retirement) • Landley Works, Bonifay Bus Driver, effective 7/15/19 at 3:00 p.m. ACCEPT the leave of absence on the following employee: Janis Marshall, BK-8 Food Service, beginning 8/6/19 at 6:30 a.m. and ending 8/14/19 at 2:00 p.m. Wilburn Baker moved to approve the Superintendent's personnel recommendations, second by Kaci Johnson which passed unanimously. S. min. p. 257 With no further business in the Regular Session, the meeting adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Shirley Owens, Chair

Terry L. Mears, Superintendent